Andrew Webb-Mitchell


Koh-i-Noor, Mountain of Light Op.4 from ‘Liber Regalis’

  • Video
  • Scoring
  • World Premiere
  • Audio

Koh-i-Noor, Mountain of Light - Excerpt

Russian National Orchestra, Thomas Sanderling

Flutes I,II
Oboes I,II
Clarinets in Bb I,II
Bassoons I, II

Horns I, II, III, IV in F
Trumpets in Bb I, II
Tenor Trombones I, II
Bass Trombone

Bass Drum, Tam-tam, Tambourine,
Triangle, Glockenspiel, Cymbals


01 January 2017
Zhuhai Opera House, Zhuhai China
Russian National Orchestra conducted by Thomas Sanderling

Thomas Sanderling

Liber Regalis is a set of works composed specifically as respectful homage to the British monarchy and to celebrate the United Kingdom’s immensely important cultural and historical legacy. A work in progress, the collection currently consists of three orchestral pieces, Trooping The Colour and Flypast, Royal Lamentation and Koh-i-Noor, Mountain of Light. The last of these was premiered by the Russian National Orchestra conducted by Thomas Sanderling on 1st January 2017 at the inaugural concerts for the opening of Zhuhai Opera House. the Russian National Orchestra then gave two further performances of Koh-i-Noor, Mountain of Light on 2nd January at the Dongguan Grand Theater and 04 January at the Huizhou Centre of Culture and Arts.

Koh-i-Noor, Mountain of Light is a single-movement tone poem, ceremonial in nature and features a soaring second subject, the diamond theme. It is structured in abridged sonata form, with recapitulation replaced by a triumphant final section celebrating the commonality of history and heritage that the Koh-i-Noor diamond symbolises to so many nations around the world.

Andrew is an ardent royalist, believes passionately in the United Kingdom and has immense pride in his English working class English roots. He feels strongly that his duty as a composer should be to serve his country and this set of orchestral works is intended to function as music for state occasions. Andrew’s ‘Royal Book’ will remain open throughout the remainder his career and he intends to regularly compose new movements to add to the collection.


Koh-i-Noor, Mountain of Light

en_GBEnglish (UK)
zh_CN简体中文 en_GBEnglish (UK)